Savoring Saturday A Look Back at Christmas

 

Every year, I have the pleasure of creating Christmas gifts for my husband’s team at work.  I love coming up with creative ideas to make the gifts extra special.  I’m still working on what the gifts will be this year but wanted to share what I did last year.  My hubby loves coffee and I notice that the team loves coffee and tea as well, so I decided to give a few savory Christmas time drinks that they could enjoy.

I created three drink mixtures that they would only have to add boiling water to and Voila, there you have it, a warm and soothing drink.  Every year, I also create a custom card.  I have so much fun acting as my husband’s little helper :).

 

This is the Christmas Card I created.  I wanted to go with the traditional Christmas color scheme last year and wanted it to be festive and to incorporate the look of  one of my husband’s favorite sweet treats, peppermint.  I love to find inspiration through many aspects when creating, whether it be family and friends, nature, or even something I’ve dreamt.

 

Tony's Praise Team 2013 Card - Final

The inside of the card read

Chocolate, Coffee and Tea for You,

To say thanks a Latte for all you do!

20131222_082849

 

Next I gave instructions for mixing each drink and created a cute little saying for each.

The first drink mix was RUSSIAN TEA.  I added “as you’re russian through your day take a moment to sip on this spicy soothing tea.”  Directions: Add 3 to 4 tablespoons of tea mix to 1 cup of boiling or cold water. Adjust amount of mix used to taste.

 I found this yummy recipe at allrecipes.com you mix all the dry ingredients and you have enough for 5 servings.

  • 1 cup instant tea powder
  • 2 cups orange-flavored drink mix (e.g. Tang)
  • 1 (3 ounce) package powdered lemonade mix
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

The next drink was FRENCH VANILLA CARAMEL CAFÉ.  I added “what a way to start off your day with a little French vanilla caramel café.”  Directions: Add 2 heaping tablespoons of mix to boiling water.

I found this recipe at food.com you mix all the dry ingredients and you have enough for 12 servings.

  • 1/3 cup instant coffee
  • 1 cup instant powdered milk
  • 1/2 cup powdered caramel coffee creamer
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup vanilla instant pudding mix

 The last drink was the BOWERS HOT CHOCOLATE.  I added “take a little time and stop an unwind with a frosty hot cocoa, it’s warmth will relax you before you know.” Directions: Spoon 3 or 4 generous tablespoons of cocoa mix into your cup (depending on the size), add boiling water, and stir well.”  With this drink, I took cocoa mix and added chocolate chips and marshmallows.

20131222_083232

 

And I put all the drink mixes in this festive cup for all to enjoy.  I got feedback from some of the team and they loved the drinks.  Needless to say that made me very happy and my job as little helper was done until the next year :).

Have a great weekend!

Take Care,

Erika

Leave a Reply

