It’s the Most Wondeful Time of the Year – Holiday Party Must Haves

The holiday season is fast approaching, better yet it’s here.  We just left October, Daylight Savings time ended and Thanksgiving is right around the corner.  Many stores already have their Christmas decorations out and I must say, I am starting to get into the holiday spirit.

This is my most favorite time of the year.  It’s a time I get the spend with my family and friends, catching up with what’s happening in their lives, and reflecting on the past which often brings lots of laughs and tears of joy.

Christmas Gathering 2

It’s also my favorite time of year because I get to throw a party and who doesn’t enjoy throwing a party?  So I want to share with you a few things that I think make a great party.

  1. Great Food for Everyone for me includes both the traditional holiday menu, as well as, great desserts.  I am known for my desserts and pride myself in mastering my grandmother’s Philadelphia Cream Cheese Pound Cake (but not like my granny)  and making Gooey Butter Cookies.  I also like to add something new to the mix and think I’ll be trying this new recipe for Dove Christmas Chocolate Drops that I found on the Dove website.
    Christmas Chocolate Drop
    Image from Love Bakes Good Cakes

    In addition to the traditional meal of turkey and dressing, rolls, sweet potatoes, wow my mouth is watering, I offer some “guest friendly” options.  We have several diabetics and vegetarians in our family so I like to cook certain items in my meal that they can eat.

  2. The Theme and Décor is very important to me because it helps set the atmosphere.  Most of your theme has been developed because it is the holiday season, but it is often fun to add an additional element by making it a “White Christmas” or “Winter Wonderland” in California.  Last year this was my theme backdrop for my dining area and it was so pretty.  IMG_9832This look was accomplished by using curly willow spray painted silver, cotton snow, lights, and silver ribbon.  You can incorporated your theme into your decorations and your table settings.  I am working on this year’s concept and I think it will include faux fur.  Can you tell by my themes that I must love the Midwest weather I left?  I do love the snow.  So you’ll have to stay tuned over the following weeks to see what I’m creating.
  3. Holiday Scents can make any home feel warm and welcoming.  A few of our favorite holiday scents are cinnamon which I accomplish by getting cinnamon scented pine cones and I love the evergreen fir tree scent.  Michael’s has these wonderful treecicles that are scented, they’re are a must have!
  4. Music I find adds a great touch to any dinner party.  Having holiday tunes as an under tone to great conversation will find you and your guest belting out tunes before you know it.  My favorite holiday tune is “This Christmas” by Donny Hathaway.
  5. Lastly, filling my home with Lots of Love puts the icing on the cake for any party.  I want my family and friends to feel welcomed and relaxed when they enter the door.  I think the biggest element in throwing a party is love and that outweighs all of the other elements.

So what are you doing to prepare for your holiday parties this season?  Got any great recipes to share or decorating ideas?  We’d love to hear them.  I love creating vision for any party and would love to help you if you can’t quite pull all of the elements together.  Feel free to contact me.

Do you know how to properly set-up your place settings for your holiday party?  We’ll be sharing that, along with one of our real parties in our upcoming post.

Take Care,

Erika

2 thoughts on “It’s the Most Wondeful Time of the Year – Holiday Party Must Haves

  1. Beautiful, Erika!

    I always say it’s not Christmas until ‘This Christmas” and “Santa Claus go straight to the ghetto” are played. I love this time of year.

    Many blessings,
    Shawna

    Like

  2. Thanks Shawna, so you understand why music is so important. You’re a girl after my heart, I just love Christmas, the reason we celebrate and the fun we get to have because of God’s precious gift. Take Care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

