Real Wedding – My Wedding

LOVE IS IN THE AIR…….

This is how I felt six years ago when I married the love of my left and STILL feel that way today.  I had dreamt of my wedding for many years and for me I think I dreamt of it even more since I was a wedding and event planner.  I use to joke with my husband when we  dated that all I needed was for him to ask me to marry him because I had our entire wedding planned.  I think I nearly scared him off :).

I remember the day so clearly like it was yesterday.  I had been busily planning every little detail and the big day was finally here.  We had our wedding Labor Day Weekend so we could include all of our family and friends and be able to spend time with them after the wedding.  We were married August 30th, 2008.

Our theme for the day was music since both my husband and I are musicians and our color scheme was  brown, cream, green, and gold for the color palette.

Bowers_Wedding3

The day started off just as I wanted it to, spending with family and friends.  We all arrived at the church, I had all my girls wear black shirts with blue jeans and I wore a white shirt.  I think my girls looked awesome.

My girls color

I bought bridesmaid’s pins for each of them and we just had a ball before the wedding, laughing and sharing many memories.

Bowers_Wedding16 Bowers_Wedding15

I got to spend a lot of time with my sister during this day, she was by my side every step of the way.

Bowers_Wedding20

I wanted to wear my hair in a classic style, so I wore my hair wavy with a side bun

Bowers_Wedding25 Bowers_Wedding42

Bowers_Wedding22

My hairdresser Pam, pictured here did a wonderful job, I absolutely loved my hairstyle.  I even wore it like that for a month after the wedding.

I love bows my Matron’s of Honor dresses had a side bow and my dress was a lace up tied with a bow.

Bowers_Wedding44 Bowers_Wedding35

I tied my sister’s bow and she tied my bow, so special. 

There were so many wonderful elements and personal touches to our wedding.  Both my husband and I have big families and we wanted everyone to feel special and to feel the love that we shared.  Since my husband is a musician he wanted to emphasize music.  I let him control all of the music.  He even picked the song I walked in on.  I know, right :).

We had a full band and a choir who sang all of the music at our wedding.

Bowers_Wedding208 Bowers_Wedding205

 I surprised my husband with a special tribute to him, since I can’t since, I spoke before I walked in and my songstress cousin Michele Sunni’Dai Stiles rocked the house!
Bowers_Wedding165 Bowers_Wedding167

And my hubby surprised me by playing at both our wedding and reception.

Bowers_Wedding202 Bowers_Wedding398

Anyone who knows me, knows I love my hometown and it was a must to take pictures near the arch.

Bowers_Wedding322 Bowers_Wedding287

We had the best desserts, our cake was German chocolate and Chocolate covered in Chocolate icing.  There was not a single slice left.  And our nephew is the master baker and he make pound cakes for desserts and none was left either.

other desserts our cake

And then we danced the night away!

1936130_101488749867686_207745_n

Having my wedding during a holiday did present a few challenges that were overcome, but the privilege of having all of my family and friends present far outweighed any challenges.

So what are the pros and cons of having a wedding during the holidays?  Stay tuned next week while we take a look….

Hope you had a ball walking down memory lane with me, I sure did.  See ya soon.

Take Care,

Erika

Credits:

Photographer – Lance Omar Thurman

Musical Director – Joseph Price

Wedding Cake – Wedding Wonderland

Desserts – Jason Clemons

Make-up – Kimberly Patterson-Bey

Hair – Pam of M.B.P.’s

7 thoughts on “Real Wedding – My Wedding

  1. OOh’s and AAh’s all around ! Love is so Great !!! You are an amazing guide & thank you for sharing your Amazing experience ! Happy Anniversary !!!

    Like

  2. Happy Anniversary, Erika and Tony! This is a beautiful story and I love the photos, especially with the arch and the cakes! What a truly original (Erika) idea – German chocolate! So great! Keep the love torch burning bright!

    Like

  3. All the pictures were lovely!! What a beautiful memory for you to treasure!! No wonder you enjoy event planning, it looks like your wedding was fantastic from start to finish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

