Happy Labor Day!

We celebrate Labor Day every first Monday in September.  It is often filled with picnics and parties coupled with spending time with family and friends.  But what are we actually celebrating?  We are celebrating the American Labor Movement and the contributions workers made to strengthen and prosper the overall well-being of our country by having more favorable labor laws.  I am so appreciative of the work our ancestors accomplished so that we could have better working conditions.  So that’s sounds like a reason to celebrate right?

Labor Day
This year, I will be relaxing and spending time with friends.  So I don’t have to plan, create or even think about putting together a spread.  BUT if I had too  I would have good food, even better drinks, and the best loving environment.

First, I would greet my guest with a Lemon-Lime infused Sparkling Water.

Water-Cropped

I just did this for a dinner party and I must say it was yummy, refreshing and light.

Cut up lemon and limes and put them in the freezer and chill your water.  There are many sparkling waters available, my favorites are  Perrier, Arrowhead, and the Fresh and Easy.  To give it a classy feel, serve in a wine glass.  Just pour your water, plop a frozen lemon and lime wedge in the glass, and garnish with a lime slice.  My mouth is watering now, I think I’ll go fix myself a glass.  What an awesome way to greet your guests!

 

Next Sangria is a must!  It’s a refreshing drink and goes a long way.

Sangria Cropped

I use this recipe at Allrecipes.com. Over the years, I have changed a few things here and there but it is always a hit!  This is from one of my parties, and there was none left :).

 SANGRIA! SANGRIA RECIPE

  • 1/2 cup brandy
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup frozen lemonade concentrate
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 (750 milliliter) bottle dry red wine
  • 1/2 cup triple sec
  • 1 lemon, sliced into rounds
  • 1 orange, sliced into rounds
  • 1 lime, sliced into rounds
  • 1/4 cup white sugar (optional) (I don’t use this)
  • 8 maraschino cherries (I don’t use this)
  • 2 cups carbonated water (optional) (I use Ginger Ale instead)
  • Frozen Mango and Pineapple Fruit (I add this and it gives it a great flavor and it chills the Sangria)

Next you need good food.  It is always great to include a great salad that is light and fresh. 

Mahajan__White_Rabbit_Photo_Boutique_MahajanShower12

My Strawberry Salad is always a hit.  And it is so very simple.

ERIKA’S STRAWBERRY SALAD

  • 10 ounces fresh spinach
  • 1 quart strawberries – sliced in half
  • 1/4 cup almonds, blanched and slivered
  • Wishbone Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

And finally load your event with lots of love and laughter.   DRINK + FOOD + LOVE = GOOD TIMES which is a great recipe for any gathering.

What are you doing for your holidays?  Any awesome recipe ideas you can share? Please make it a fun and safe holiday.  Next we’ll look back at my wedding.  I got married during Labor Day weekend and just celebrated 6 years with my hubby August 30th.  Can’t wait to share.

Take Care,

Erika

Leave a Reply

