Happy St. Patty’s Day!

patricks

Saint Patrick’s Day is sometimes bitter sweet for me. It was the day my son Brandon was born in 1999 which was one of the sweetest moments in my life. However, Brandon is no longer with us. After battling Myelodysplastic Syndrome for 2 1/2 years God called him home 10 years ago at the age of 4 1/2 which makes this day sad at times because I can no longer celebrate….so I thought.

Well this year I decided to celebrate Saint Patty’s Day by honoring Brandon, as well as, bringing more awareness to his disease.  Brandon was a fun-loving, energetic kid who made everyone who came in contact with him laugh.  He was truly my little angel.

ManMan
My Little Man – Brandon

Myelodysplastic Syndrome is a type of cancer in which the bone marrow does not make enough healthy blood cells and there are abnormal (blast) cells in the blood and/or bone marrow. When Brandon was diagnosed, I was informed this was a very rare disease typically found in older people and was even rarer when a child was diagnosed.

Brandon’s only chance was to have a Bone Marrow Transplant. It was a battle finding a match for Brandon because he was a minority and the amount of minority donors on the registry at that time was very low.  The amount of donors has increased since then, however, their is still a need for donors, especially minorities.

There are many people battling diseases that need bone marrow transplants.  Please consider being a donor, you may potentially save a life.  Please visit the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society or The National Marrow Donor Program for more information.  These are two organizations I worked closely with during Brandon’s illness.

Thanks for helping me honor Brandon!

Take Care,

Erika

10 thoughts on “Happy St. Patty’s Day!

  1. Thank you for sharing such an endearing testimony sister Erika. You have brought tears to my eyes in seeing your little man’s picture. Also inspiration to my mind in getting the word out on the importance of donating blood and bone marrow for all, but especially among the minority populations. Thank you.

    Like

  2. That was beautiful and such a sweet face. Thank you for mentioning the Lymphoma Society, we are involved because of Poppy. Love you

    Like

  3. It was truly an honor to know Brandon. He brought so much joy to my life. St. Patrick’s Day is also bittersweet for me. I miss Man Man. God blessed us when he brought you in our life

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing your story and your son, Brandon. You two are pictures of courage. And, he is absolutely gorgeous. Thank you for educating me on the rare disease he bravely fought. My daughter’s school mate recently passed away from leukemia and so this story deeply touched me and also makes me understand even more why we must honor the memory of these children. God used them in a mighty way and their lives continue to have tremendous impact on us all.

    Like

    1. Shawna, thank you for your feedback. My heart goes out to the parents who loss their child, I do believe we should honor their memory. They fight such brave fights and are often so inspirational.

      Like

Leave a Reply

