Christmas Traditions – Part 2

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas day.  We sure did at our home.  Before we move into the new year, I would like to share one other Christmas tradition my family has that I absolutely love.  Every year, our family buys or makes a new ornament to add to our tree.  It’s no wonder our tree has any room left on it.  This is our ornament for this year, it adds the bling I love and shows where our strength comes from.

Christmas 2013 - Gold Bejeweled Cross
Christmas 2013 – Gold Bejeweled Cross

I can remember this tradition stemming from when I was a little girl like it was yesterday.  During that time, we use to make most of our special ornaments.  My mom is very creative and crafty.  I remember her setting a table next to the fireplace in our basement.  She would lay out paint, supplies, and the ceramic ornaments that were made for us.  My sister and I would paint our hearts away while she went and got the cookies and milk ready for Santa.  And of course, we had Christmas music playing in the background.  “Have yourself a merry little Christmas” rings in my ear.  I’m getting chills just thinking about it.   I am so excited to share with you those ornaments which my mother STILL has.  Now don’t judge our painting skills, remember my sister and I were kids at the time (smile).  Can you tell which one’s my mother helped us with?

Little Drummer Boy
The Little Drummer Boy
Mr. Snowman
Mr. Snowman
The Candy Cane
The Candy Cane
The Wreath
The Christmas Wreath
Mrs. Claus 1
Me and My Sister’s Mrs. Claus
Mr. Teddy Bear
Mrs. Claus 2
Momma’s Mrs. Claus

So of course I carried the tradition on with my husband.  It’s funny, I quizzed my husband on what ornaments we added each year, and low and behold he got them right.  We were married August 2008 and spent immediately started our collection.  Take a look…

Christmas 2009 - Joy
Christmas 2009 – Joy
Christmas 2010 - Blinged 2010
Christmas 2010 – Blinged 2010
Christmas 2011 - The Coffee Lover (My Hubby)
Christmas 2011 – The Coffee Lover (My Hubby)
Christmas 2012 - The Golden Harp
Christmas 2012 – The Golden Harp

I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I did creating it.  Do you have any favorite ornaments you love?  Please share with me I am so in love with ornaments and would enjoy seeing your collection.

Take Care,

Erika

Leave a comment