Christmas Traditions – Part 1

As I started to write this post and reflect on Christmas, I began to think of all the wonderful traditions that my family has created over the years.  There are so many, from playing Christmas music, to all the men frying a turkey the morning of our big feast.  Do you know I can’t tell you how the fried turkey every tasted because they would eat the entire thing before dinner time, how funny.  I remember when my husband and I were dating and during our first Christmas he joined the men.  He called me and said, Erika can you believe they ate all the turkey, he was just in awe and did I mention he is vegetarian?  We laugh until this day about his first “fried turkey” experience.

This week I’ll share with you some of my most cherished Christmas traditions.

Baking is my most cherished family tradition because it stems from when I was a little girl, in the kitchen with my granny while visiting her in Louisiana, watching her bake her most infamous Philadelphia Cream Cheese cake.  It would just melt in your mouth.  That paired with her homemade ice cream, pure heaven.  Since then, I bake every year.   My sister has even passed this tradition onto her daughters.  Taylor and Jazz are avid bakers and their desserts are delish!

Erika's Elegance Just Hanging
My nieces and I, love these girls!

Some of my most treasured desserts are the Philadelphia Cream Cheese Pound Cake, my scrumptious Gooey Butter Cookies, and my German Chocolate Cookies.  In case you can’t tell, I’m a softie for any desserts with Philadelphia Cream Cheese.

Below is my grandmother’s recipe:

INGREDIENTS
8 ounce package cream cheese
3 sticks of butter
3 cups sugar
6 eggs
3 cups cake flour
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I use a little extra)

DIRECTIONS
Mix butter, cheese and sugar together in a large mixing bowl. Beat with a fork or mixer at low speed until smooth. Then beat at medium speed with mixer until fluffy. Gradually add flour.  Next add eggs one at time mixing well after each. Add vanilla. Pour into bundt or tube pan sprayed with Baker’s Joy. Place in a cold oven at 325 degrees for approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes on bottom rack. Test with toothpick.  I would sometimes take my cake out just a few minutes before time, if you like your top gooey.  If not, leave in until the toothpick comes out clean.

Erika's Pound Cake - edited
My Philadelphia Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Although this is a standard recipe, what makes my grandmother’s recipe special is the love, care, farm fresh eggs she used from her coup, and the little tips she gave me.

GRANNY’S TIPS

  • Always use pure butter
  • Make sure your butter and cream cheese are room temperature, although scientist may not recommend this now, my grandmother would keep her ingredients out over night
  • Take your time and make sure you whip your butter and cream cheese well
  • Add only one egg at a time
  • Use Swan Cake Flour and sift it
  • Use Pure Vanilla Extract

If you choose to make this, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!  This goes great with vanilla ice cream.  I would bake this while we were eating dinner and as soon as I pulled it out of the oven, it left the plate in 30 seconds flat.  I guess you can say everyone must love that recipe.

What are your favorite holiday recipes?  Please share with us.

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas!

Erika

2 thoughts on “Christmas Traditions – Part 1

  1. Thank you, Erika!

    This may be the best Christmas gift I receive this year. Thank you for unselfishly sharing your grandmother’s cake recipe. I will definitely be making this. I also have a grandmother who is a strong cook and baker.

    Great story of love and family and great food and desserts. Appreciate you!

    Merry Christmas

    Like

Leave a Reply

