Diamond, What’s in the Name?

Diamonds have been in existence for billions of years. The diamond is the most used stone in an engagement ring. So what makes a diamond a diamond? It is based upon the Four C’s: cut, color, clarity and carat, these are the criteria by which diamonds are graded. This system was developed by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and adopted by the entire industry. The goal is to find a ring that you like, within your budget, and that balances the Four C’s.

Cut: Represents 50% of the price of a diamond. Most diamonds are cut round with a full 58 facets – which are like little mirrors that let light enter the surface and creates a sparkle for the viewer.

Color: The most common diamond color is yellow. Most diamonds have a slight hint of yellow and the diamond color is based on the amount of yellow present in a diamond. Diamond color is graded according to the GIA Grading Scale which ranges from D-Z. It is extremely difficult to see the color differences with diamonds.

Clarity: The clarity scale ranges from Flawless to Imperfect; it reprints the natural blemished and inclusions within the diamond.

Carat: It is the weight of the diamond. The more a diamond weighs, the rarer the diamond, hence the more expensive it will be.

All these are important details when shopping for your engagement ring.


One thought on “Diamond, What’s in the Name?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s